2019 High School Program Speakers

Thank you to our volunteer speakers for making this week so wonderful!

Click here to learn more about the program.


Congresswoman Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR), bit.ly/JennifferGonzález-Colón

Congresswoman Yvette Clarke (D-NY), bit.ly/Yvette-Clarke

Congresswoman Lauren Underwood (D-IL), bit.ly/RepUnderwood

Congresswoman Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), bit.ly/RepLawrence

Congressman Will Hurd (R-TX), bit.ly/WillHurd

Laura Cox Kaplan, Board Co-Chair, Running Start; Adjunct Professor, American University; Board Member, The Hunt Companies, bit.ly/LauraCoxKaplan

Krysta Jones, Founder & CEO, Virginia Leadership Institute, bit.ly/KrystaJones

Chief Chanel Dickerson, Assistant Chief of Patrol Services South, DC Metropolitan Police

Department, bit.ly/ChiefDickerson

Ariel Hill-Davis, Director of Policy, Republican Women for Progress; Vice President, Industry & Regulatory Affairs, bit.ly/ArielHill-Davis

Audrey Henson, Founder and CEO, College to Congress, bit.ly/AudreyHenson

Danielle Prendergast, Principle Consultant, Policy By Design LLC; National Elect Her Training Facilitator, Running Start, bit.ly/DaniellePrendergast

Heather Barmore, Advisor, VoteRunLead, bit.ly/HeatherBarmore

Jennifer Higgins, Partner, Chamber Hill Strategies, bit.ly/JenniferHiggins

Jessica Grounds, Co-Founder, Mine the Gap; Co-Chair Emeritus of the Board of Directors, Running Start, bit.ly/GroundsJessica

Kelly Gibson, Partner, Hamburger Gibson Creative, bit.ly/KellyGibson

Martina Fitzgerald, Irish Political Journalist and Author, bit.ly/MartinaFitzgerald

Regina Monge, Finance Assistant, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell for Congress, bit.ly/ReginaMonge1

Sohini Gupta, Principal, Mehlman Castagnetti Rosen & Thomas, bit.ly/Sohini-Gupta

Kate Black, Policy Advisor, Federal Communications Commission; author, bit.ly/KateBlack-

Nancy Bocskor, Director, Texas Woman’s University Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy; Running Start Board Member, bit.ly/Nancy-Bocskor

Allyson Carpenter, Director of Public Engagement, DC Council, bit.ly/AllysonCarpenter

Jayne Atkinson-Gill, actress, bit.ly/JayneAtkinson-Gill

Sarah Beccio, CEO, Indigecomms, bit.ly/SarahBeccio

Sarah Blahovec, Disability Vote Organizer, The National Council on Independent Living, bit.ly/SarahBlahovec

Charlotte Clymer, Press Secretary for Rapid Response, Human Rights Campaign, bit.ly/Charlotte-Clymer

Elliott Kozuch, Deputy Press Secretary, Human Rights Campaign, bit.ly/ElliottKozuch

Farah Melendez, Political Director, Democratic Attorneys General Association, bit.ly/FarahMelendez

Lucky Sasiphong, Scheduling/Operations Intern, US Senator Kamala Harris, bit.ly/Lucky-S

Rina Shah, Co-Founder, Women Influencers Network, bit.ly/RinaShah

Chris Baer, artist, bit.ly/ChristopherBaer

Sabrina Siddiqui, Vice President, Forbes Tate, bit.ly/SabrinaSiddiqui

Ewurama Appiagyei-Dankah, Director of Constituent Relations, Office of Senator

Winnie Brinks (MI-29), bit.ly/EwuramaAppiagyei-Dankah

Hind Essayegh, Regional Director, MALIKAH DMV, bit.ly/H-


Rebecca Thompson, Clarity + Confidence Coach, bit.ly/RebeccaThom

Running Start Staff


Susannah Wellford, Running Start, CEO and Founder

Melissa Richmond, Running Start, Chief Strategy Officer

Jessica Kelly, Running Start, Leadership and Programs Director

Sara Blanco, Running Start, Communications Director

Natalie Caraballo, Running Start, Operations Assistant

Reniya Dinkins, Running Start, Development Coordinator

Carly Madsen, Running Start, Program and Events Coordinator